New vendors are welcome who live in one of the following Tennessee Counties: Hawkins, Greene, Washington, Sullivan, Carter, Unicoi, and Johnson. The market is open from 7:00AM until 2:00PM. You may arrive to setup your booths as early as 6:00AM.
Please follow the following steps:
Arrive on site and locate the Lot Manager. Ask for a membership form, fill it out, and turn in the form and your fees. (2016 membership fee is $35.00 and a selling daily fee of $5.00/day/parking spot if application is approved by the Johnson City Farmer's Market Board.)
The Lot Manager will direct you to one of the assigned spots. Set up your booth making certain that attention is paid to public safety. Follow the lot rules (this means State of Tennessee as well as FDA requirements as well as the market rules) as outlined on your membership application form. Also follow the state, local, and federal rules as incated in this PDF (click here).
Enjoy your day and the fine folks who attend our market.
If you produce a food product, the kitchen used must be inspected by either the Department of Public Health or the Tennessee Department of Agriculture and a copy of that inspection must be provided to us when you apply for market membership.
New Vendors will want to read our ByLaws in order to make the most of our market. Click here to download our 2013 By Laws.
Follow the rules and laws of the State of TN, Johnson City, and US Federal. (click here)
There has been a lot of concern over the 50%/50% law on the books for the State of Tennessee. The revenue department sent us a copy of what the law says. So long as you grow 50% of what you sell, the other 50% of what you buy can also be sold without sales taxes being applied. The law.
There is a new pamphlet out by UT extension called Sales Tax in Tennessee On The Purchase and Sale of Farm Products that is well worth reading for farmers. It will take a minute or more to download but it offers many good examples and explanations. Search the following website for "PB 1806" ag.tennessee.edu/